Scottishdogs Blog


A Good Idea

Posted in Derby,Hector's Diary,Moore Lane,Osmaston Park,Scotti Dog Blog,Scottish Terriers by scottishdogs on April 21, 2010

Bonny is a ferocious girl at times and we are considering using a muzzle so she can be trusted when out in public.  She is nice to me (mostly), lovely to people, but she does not like other dogs who are new to her and mum often has to “lead her up” to punish her or simply to protect the other dog.  The brindle Staffordshire Bull Terrier who lives next door, Sheba, who is the love of my life (I once ran all the way home from the park – just to “pay my respects”) has the same kind of temperament as Bonny.  Sheba loves her family, is friendly to people, but can get very cross and “bitey”  with other dogs.  The solution:  Her mum Mandy uses a muzzle.  Now Sheba can run and play off the lead and “not to get into any trouble!”.  Sheba’s dad Sid, has a bad back at the moment and we wish him a speedy recovery.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Responses to 'A Good Idea'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A Good Idea'.

  1. Bonnie said,

    Arooooooo! I found my way here from Down Under Daisy! It’s nice to find other Scottie friends around the world. I am another ‘Bonnie’ Scottie and live in Florida in the USA. I don’t generally have issues with other dogs unless they growl or snap at me first, then all bets are off. I usually jump back a bit, give them the ‘HOW RUDE’ look and then the flashy jaws of death come out to remind them of their manners. And I don’t like it when taller dogs want to put their toofers on my neck. Brings out the Scots in me every time. I am always on my lead, even in the house, except at the leash free bark park. My nickname is Bonnie the Bolter. Seems there is always a squirrel or bird or cat or lizzard or something that makes me want to take off into the wind. SHE leaves my leash on in the house in case someone opens the door and I make a run for it. The drag line gives HER a chance to (1 in a 100) to capture me. SHE wanted me to remind you that if you put the wee Bonny in a muzzle, not to snap the lead to the muzzle. My trainer said Scotties have been known to snap their slender necks if they jump or bolt or pull. I have a gentle leader sports bra type harness (not the kind around my snooter) and went arse over once when I darted after a squirrel. Knocked the wind plumb outta me and there I was upside down, embarrased, and breathless in the street. If the leash had been snapped on a muzzle or the leader thingy that goes around the schnoze, I’d probably have broken my wee neckie.

    Glad to meet up with you two, polite sniffies all around,

    Bonnie the wee Scottie

    • scottishdogs said,

      Hi Bonnie

      I have a Bonny too! Nice to meet you.

      Och Ay the noo!


  2. A very timely post. Bella nipped a walker this morning…..and she wasn’t even sorry. If anything, rather proud. We’re thinking of a muzzle for her if she doesn’t improve.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella

    • scottishdogs said,

      Hi Daisy, Kendra and Bella,

      This is the second comment today which has made mum chuckle. First there was “flashy jaws of death” from Bonnie (above) and now your comment about Bella: “she wasn’t even sorry, if anything rather proud”.

      Our mum has had a re-think about the muzzle (she is weak) and has decided to lead Bonny up when she gets hostile …. for now….


Leave a Reply

