Scottishdogs Blog


The Name Game

Posted in Bonny,Derby,Dogs,Hector's Diary,Pregnancy,Scotti Dog Blog,Scottish Terriers by scottishdogs on July 5, 2010

Six days to go until Bonny’s babies are due and we are on tenterhooks as the human’ s are over-prepared, over-equipped and quite honestly, don’t really know what they are doing. Rest assured Bonny WILL know what she is doing so I am not at all worried about my brood. At least not yet.

Now the name game: A current fun theme this week is how we all got our names. This may sound boring to you peeps, but my human had no idea what to call me when I first came on the scene (all wet and worried cos I was car sick on the way). She Googled ‘Scottish boys names’ and came up with two possibles: ‘Hector’ and ‘Hamish’ which she really liked. However, she thought Hector seemed to suit my personality. So there we are, that is how I got my name.

Bonny is a little different. My human contacted the breeder BEFORE Bonny was born and put a deposit down asking the breeder to call Bonny ‘Bonny’ from the first. She loves the name Bonny because when she was little her Daddy used to sing “My Bonnie Lies Over The Ocean” to her. That said, she decided to spell Bonny with a ‘y’ and not an ‘ie’ because she knows a Bonnie who is a little girl and dogs are dogs, while people is peeps (if you get my drift…).

Bonny - Happy and hot

As for our human, well as far as I know, she is called “she” and I think she is ok.

5 Responses to 'The Name Game'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The Name Game'.

  1. Maggie Mae said,

    Those are nice name stories! Thank you for sharing thems with us. I likes Hector bettter than Hamish so I am glad that your mom chose to name you that 🙂

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  2. Madi and Mom said,

    Bonny sweetheart I feel for you being pregnant in the summer. My daughter was born in August 1971 one hot summer at least the maternity clothes back then were big and airy not like today with them fitting way too tight.

    Hugs Mom and Madi


  3. Good luck to Bonny.

  4. Kendra, Daisy and Bella said,

    Thanks for telling us how you got your names. We think Hector is a great name….very strong sounding. And Bonny is definitely a bonny scots.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella


  5. You guys look so regal. Kind of different from other Scotties. Very handsome in a different kind of way. Nice, long noses and beautiful eyes. We can’t wait to see the puppies!

    I’m getting a late start on the name game thing (nobody tells me anything) – so here goes: I have absolutely no idea where my name came from except that it was His idea to name me Stuart. That’s, of course, a Scottish kind of name isn’t it?

    Roooooooo Puppies! Stuart


Leave a Reply

