Scottishdogs Blog


Seven Brothers

Thank you all for your kind words and support over the last exhausting week and for your happy congragulations. My human is sorry she has not visited any blogs recently but she is very busy gazing adoringly at the puppies, sponging Bonny down and fetching ice cream for her royal highness, ‘Queen Bonny’.

I have only taken a few tentative glances at my offspring, but they look like a squirmy mass of shiny black well, mice really. My human is sleeping downstairs while Bonny gets used to her responsibilities and I am sleeping in the lounge with her while my new family live in the kitchen. The whelping box (an upturned table) they constructed with cardboard and sellotape is proving viable, and they have inserted water filled pop bottles as roll bars in case any pups get under Bonny. These bottles may look strange, but they hold the bedding straight and the squirmy, surprisingly nippy (for blind, deaf things) in. We have been promised the loan of a nursery pen for when they are older.

We have christened the huge boy pup who built the road for the rest to travel through (through Bonny, that is) ‘Mighty Jo’. He has gained almost 2 ounces since birth!!!! The rest have given no reason for nick names (yet) except for our 3 ouncer who my humans are calling “Widget”. Widget has risen from 3 to 4 ounces in his first 24 hours of life, so we hope he will continue to gain, he certainly should as he squeals loudest when Bonny moves and nips along feeding from the best nipples (between her back legs). Unless my human is mistaken, they are ALL BOYS. All little Hectors – how proud am I!!! Any way, here are some (lots) more pictures all of which were taken today, 24 hours after birth.

7 Responses to 'Seven Brothers'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Seven Brothers'.


  1. Our Mom would be in heaven – all those little black puppies – so far we have never had a black puppy!! Guess that means we need to get a black male dog, doesn’t it. Wanna come visit for a while, Hector???

  2. Mayzie said,

    Ohmidogness! I just told Mango I should never ever leaves bloggieland again. He got an icky ouchie on his leg. Puddles eyeball is all swollen. And Bonny had her baby puppies! Oh, they are so very much adorable and I just can’t wait to see them all grow up!

    Congratulations! Give Bonny big kisses for me!

    Wiggles & Wags,
    Mayzie

  3. Maggie Mae said,

    Hector,

    Mom is making all those silly noises while she is looking at your new family…very embarrasing! The babies are so cute. I am sure Bonny is being a good mommy too. Congrats again dad!

    Woofs and Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  4. Abigail said,

    Bonny looks like she is doing pretty well

  5. Kendra, Daisy and Bella said,

    They’re soooooo cute….even if they are all boys. You’ve been in a mostly female household for so long and now you’re the majority!

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella


  6. Was hoping there might be a little brown one in there like me. They all look nice and healthy and fantastic pics!

  7. Maddy Whiplash said,

    Oh Bonny I am so very envious of your lovely brood! Can I come and snuggle them please please please!!!!

    Glad all are doing well and thanks for the piccies! My Hector, I didn’t know you had it in you. I might be nicer to you next time we meet behind the tree. *wink wink*


Leave a Reply

