Scottishdogs Blog


Tragedy, Sorrow and Pain

Posted in Tragic loss of puppies by scottishdogs on July 13, 2010

It has been a terrible, terrible time in our house.  After three wonderful days of puppydom and happy weight gains all round – Bonny got sick.  Puppies go down-hill fast when their mother stops feeding them.  The vet couldn’t help, family members fought like troopers to keep the pups alive but they rejected the bottle, and slowly, slowly the life faded out of our wonderful, wonderful pups and they lost their battle for life.  We are distraught as I am sure you can imagine.  I will write a more detailed page on the demise of our pups as we did make mistakes, and if an account of this loss makes sure readers who are new to breeding as we were don’t make the mistakes we made, then I hope it does some good.

There is one little miracle I want to tentatively mention, his name is Wellington, and he is the last of Bonny and Hector’s pups.  For some inexplicable reason, Bonny never turned on this valiant little fighter.  One pup left, one pup called Wellington.  The good news is that Bonny is feeling better, and she is feeding Wellington as we speak but my heart is broken and I am really, really sad too sad for words. Hector is sad too and he lies at my feet as I write, a great friend who will write his usual blog as soon as we can enjoy writing again.

Catherine

13 Responses to 'Tragedy, Sorrow and Pain'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Tragedy, Sorrow and Pain'.

  1. Madi and Mom said,

    Oh my Catherine I’m so sorry to read this very sad news.
    It is a miracle that Wellington survived and thank goodness Bonny is recuperating.
    We will keep you in our thoughts,
    Madi and Mom

  2. Peggy said,

    Just saw your sad news and feel badly for you. God always has a reason for the way things happen. And his ways are higher than our ways. Keep enjoying the sweet dogs you have.


  3. Catherine

    We are so sad to hear of your loss. We know just how much you cared for those little mites. We will keep positive thoughts for Wellington and please give Bonny and Hector some extra cuddles from us.

    If you need anything at all we are here. We will keep all of you in our thoughts and prayers.

    Diane, Jules, Maddy and Cookie

  4. Lynn said,

    Oh my heart goes out to you as the tears course down my cheeks. I am so glad to hear that Bonnie is doing fine.

  5. Kendra, Daisy and Bella said,

    We’re heart broken, too, and hope little Wellington makes it. Having lost puppies in the past, we know how you are feeling.

    XXXOOO Daisy, Kendra & Bella

  6. Bonnie said,

    Oh, how sad and pitiful for you and Bonny and Hector. Our hearts reach out to you as you deal with this sad outcome. We are sending soft woofie kisses and virtual huggies to all.

    Sniffle,
    Bonnie and her support staff

  7. Maggie Mae said,

    Oh no,
    Mom and me are so sad to learn of this news. 😦
    Prayers for all of you are heading your way, especially Bonny and puppy Wellington. Hugs for Hector!

    Woofs and Healing Licks,
    Maggie Mae

  8. edgar said,

    what heartbreaking news – we are so sorry!

  9. Melanie Hart said,

    Everyone at Total Hire are sad to hear your news, we are so sorry Catherine.

    Lots of love, kissess and cuddles to you, Bonny, Hector and of course Wellington.

    Mel and all the Staff at Total Hire

    xxxxxxxxx


  10. I don’t know what to say. You and yours are in Our thoughts. Today and always.

    Your Pal,
    Stuart

  11. Joy Hodson said,

    Dearest Catherine, Bonnie, Hector and little Wellington
    Ray and I have just read the sad news about your distressing days and cannot believe that you were not able to receive far more help when Bonnie developed eclampsia which is a well known and distressing condition that has been known for well over 40 years, In my younger days I used to breed Golden retrievers and my breeder friend from whom I had bought my first breeding bitch gave me strict instructions on what to look out for and how to feed the puppies should there be in any need. As it was, my bitch produced 12 puppies and only had 10 nipples so we had to feed two puppies at every meal from day 1 and there is a nack to it. Using a syringe (without the needle of course) is the easy way when they are so small and will not suck as you can dribble to milk into the corner of their mouths.

    We are very distressed by all this and the only advice we can give is that the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons do have a very good complaints procedure and perhaps this is the best way to redress the situation.

    Ou thoughts are with you all and hope that Wellington continues to inprove.

    • scottishdogs said,

      Thank you for your advice. I think I will write and complain to the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons it will make me feel better if nothing else.

  12. Abigail said,

    Oh my gosh, I am so sorry. We were so excited for you, I can’t image the pain you and you family is feeling. I hope that Bonnie continues to get well and that you all can heal.

    You gave them lots of love before they crossed the rainbow bridge.

    -The Entire Van Gelder Pack


Leave a Reply

